“When you’re finished changing, you’re finished.” – New Years Resolutions.

Having spent the majority of the day comatose due to the [slight] inebriation I exposed myself to last night, my first thoughts upon realising this feeling of death personified wasn’t going away any time soon was ‘I’m never drinking again.’

Now, as we all know. That isn’t true.

These comical thoughts did however lead me to resolutions that – every year – we make, and try and keep.

New Years resolutions.

As those who know me well will know, I’m a big believer in change. ‘Everything is temporary,’ I say it all.the.time. I even have a tattoo on my foot to remind me, in case I should ever forget.

Now all change is not necessarily for the better, but as Benjamin Franklin once said, “When you’re finished changing, you’re finished.” Scary as change might be, we have to trust that its for a reason.

If we could wake up every day and try execute changes to our lives, expelling the bad and keeping only the good then the world (or our lives at least) would be a better place. But as realistically the majority of us don’t have time to ponder upon the states of our lives on a daily basis, or perhaps aren’t immediately aware of what is harmful and what is beneficial to us, or perhaps simply don’t have the willpower to enforce said changes on a daily basis… Thats what New Years are for!

Giving the impression that you’re starting from scratch, we wake up hopeful (and often super hungover) on January 1st of every year. And regardless of how long we keep those new years resolutions for, making them at least gives us an insight into whats working for you, and what isn’t.

This year I hope to keep mine, forever. But, everything is temporary.

One thought on ““When you’re finished changing, you’re finished.” – New Years Resolutions.

  1. Pingback: The Happiness Project. « moorizZLA Says

Leave a Reply

